MENU

Wilding Free Mackenzie is a charitable trust (registered as Mackenzie Basin Wilding Tree Trust) formed in 2016 as a vehicle to promote knowledge about the impact of wilding trees in the Mackenzie Basin and to work with stakeholders to implement a strategic approach to deal with the challenges presented by wilding pines.

The Trust has 8 trustees and one community coordinator, all are landowners in the Basin. The Trust meets regularly, along with representatives from the affected government departments Land Information New Zealand, Ministry for Primary Industries, Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency, Department of Conservation, the New Zealand Defence Force; and local government agencies Environment Canterbury, Mackenzie District Council, Waitaki District Council. These bodies all participate in the meetings and collaborate in prioritising and coordinating work, and obtaining funding and resources for dealing with wildings on land within the Mackenzie Basin. 

From 2021 the Trust is increasing its efforts in promoting knowledge of the impact of wilding pines within the community. We are doing this through creating a presence on social media and in local papers, running volunteer days, and engaging with schools in the area. We believe that if more people understand the issues associated with wilding pine invasion, the more readily they will contribute to doing something about it.

We encourage landowners to continue their work on wilding pine control, and to collaborate with their neighbours and Environment Canterbury to achieve widespread control of wilding pines. 

Trustees

Andrew Simpson, Chairman E: Andrew@thecairns.co.nz 
Bruce Cowan, Secretary/Treasurer E: bjcowan@xtra.co.nz
Ross lvey E: glentanner@xtra.co.nz
Simon Cameron E: benohau@xtra.co.nz
George Ormond E: info@pukakidowns.co.nz 
Kaye Paardekooper E: kaye@paardekooper.nz
Ben Aubrey E: baubrey@xtra.co.nz 
Rob Young E: Ryoung@temanahuna.co.nz

Community Coordinator

Haeleigh Turner E: coordinator@mackenziewildings.org.nz